Waits
JulNo Member

Mood: Lagging

Word Count: 0 / 50000
Word Count Start0% Complete100% To GoWord Count End

[*] posted on 7-1-2009 at 05:54 PM
"You should expand the first chapter"

I need an opinion on this one.

I know the general rules of the NoWriMo are no going back, no revision, just get the quantity goal and deal with the quality goal later. That's why I came here -- I'm an extremely undisciplined writer, and I'm held back by my own self-criticism. I've been talking about writing a novel for years, and I know I have the ability to do it, so this could be the perfect way to stop worrying about perfection and just get it out of me.

Anyway, I wrote my first chapter, and assuming I at least manage to write a couple hundred more words, I will be current with my 1,600 words for the day. I read my first chapter to a friend to see if she found it captivating enough (maybe this was my mistake), and she said it was good, but that I really should expand on what I have and make it a few chapters as opposed to a sort of rushed backstory. This would obviously involve me going back and adding and subtracting things, which would be against the spirit of the challenge, but here's my rationale for even considering it: I've never written anything longer than 10 pages before, and I may still be stuck in rushed-narrative short story mode. Leaving my first chapter as a rushed backstory, I could find my story losing steam around 20,000 words, or even less. I don't know; I've never done this before.

Anyway, tomorrow I could start writing in the middle of what I've got and I'd only have to subtract small amounts. Should I try this? Or should I just stick with it and stick it out, risking a meandering plot line down the road when I've got perfectly expandable material at the start?

It would probably be helpful to read what I have so far, but I'll take advice even if you haven't. Here's the first chapter: http://docs.google.com/View?id=dxq4qzn_32fc8qvmhh
LunaKlipps