Pages:  1  
Author: Subject: Necessary Distractions
mynock77
JulNo Member

Word Count: 0 / 50000
Word Count Start0% Complete100% To GoWord Count End

[*] posted on 6-24-2009 at 05:33 PM
Necessary Distractions

First of all, I'm not sure if this is the proper forum for this. If not, I apologize. Here's my question:

I'm often in the middle of writing something (because I am a freelance writer for a living) and have an unrelated thought. For example, I might decide that I'm thirsty, hungry or need to go to the bathroom.

In the case of things that need to be done eventually, but could probably wait for a few minutes to an hour, is it better to just do it and get it over with and then come back to writing or keep writing until you finish a section, even though you're distracted by a grumbling stomach or something, and then come back and finish the writing thought later?

[Edited on 6-24-2009 by mynock77]
SlySionnach
Experienced JulNo'er

Mood: Excited
JulNoWriMo Title: Trip / Empty Brocade

Word Count: 121257 / 50000
Word Count Start100% CompleteWord Count End

JulNoWriMo Winner!

[*] posted on 6-24-2009 at 06:02 PM

I always stop for the bathroom. That is definitely a necessary distraction. But as for food, I try my hardest to compete a section first. If I break myself in the middle of it, I never can get back into it, it seems. Same with shorter stories (up to 3k)- if I don't sit and write all of it out in one go, I'll lose the tone or something.

09: Trip- 50,055
10: Empty Brocade - 63,660
12: The Reanimation Code - FAIL
13: Only Illusion - 77,050
14: Finishing Novels - TBD

Zombie Writers Unit
If we fry our brains, we'll just take yours.
Lenyberry
JulNo Member

[*] posted on 6-24-2009 at 07:12 PM

I typically try to finish up a section, at least to the end of a paragraph.
youngshay112
JulNo Writer

Mood: i\'m fine, how are you?
JulNoWriMo Title: Untitled Romance

[*] posted on 6-24-2009 at 07:54 PM